Language Learning

Language learning is hard at the best of times, but it sure can have its moments!

Amharic is one of the widest spoken languages in Ethiopia, and the language spoken by my fiancee, and so it has been the language that I have been learning since I moved here almost 4 years ago.

To begin with I was keen and motivated, yet initially frustrated that I couldn’t write properly. Amharic uses fidel to write – it is one of the oldest written alphabets in Africa. It looks like this: አምሐረኛ (Amharenga).

Once I learned to write, I was a happy learner – but it was still difficult to hear the differences between the short and long vowel sounds used in the language.

Another problem is that I do not commonly sit with people who only speak Amharic (I teach in English at a school where 90% of the people who are in the compound speak English), so forcing myself to use it is difficult.

And then my time goes away. They say that you can make time for anything if it is important enough, and I guess there could be time, but it just hasn’t been found regularly enough for it to become a habit to practice and to learn.

Can I just say that we need a Duolingo Amharic course?? I would totally do that and learn lots too!!

Anyway, what initially drove this post was, once again, the lovely, Itchy Feet.

dnswbki

Of course, my understand is more like 3 pieces of puzzle for each paragraph of language…

BUT, if you want to help me on my language journey, I would really like to stay over the June-July break in 2018 to go to language school. However, I can only do that if my funding is at 100% for my new budget. If you want to help, check out this page here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

