Worship Team – IEC

Today was a good day.

Today was the day that I finally had the honour of leading my church, International Evangelical Church (IEC), in worship. This may sound like a little thing, but really it is a great thing to praise God about!

There is more to this story.

When I was in high school, and then studying for my undergraduate degree, I was on my church’s worship teams as a vocalist. I really enjoyed the time, and loved to serve the church in that way.

After I finished my degree (a BSc majoring in Geography if you are interested ūüėČ I did not join worship team at any of the other churches that I attended.

About a year ago, I was finally convinced to join the worship team at IEC. A great friend of mine was leading worship one Sunday and she invited me to join her team. From there I was on the schedule every two months or so.

In January, 2016, I was scheduled again to be on the worship team – but the worship leader couldn’t do that week, and so our worship pastor chose the set and ran the practice. Through that, I took a vocal lead for that team, and our worship pastor decided that I was worship leader material!

As the¬†schedules kept coming, I was put on to lead worship. I had my set ready, but then I got the flu…

A few months later, I was scheduled again to lead worship. I was all ready, I had chosen the songs, decided the keys for the music, but then I got the flu again…

Seriously.

I kinda got to thinking about this: What healthy young person, such as myself, gets influenza, twice in 5 months!! This must have been an attack from the enemy, the one who does not want me to succeed, the destroyer of dreams.

So, when I saw the new schedule, once I had returned from break in New Zealand, I was a little bit nervous.

And I got many of my great friends, mentors, people in NZ and here in Ethiopia, to pray.

And pray they did!

It did not stop the nervousness entirely, but it did give me a confidence. I was encouraged to read scripture and found this gem: Isaiah 54, in particular, verse 17:

no weapon forged against you will prevail,
    and you will refute every tongue that accuses you.
This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord,
¬†¬†¬†¬†and this is their vindication from me,‚ÄĚ
declares the Lord.

There were times I thought I was getting a cold this past week, but ultimately, God has been so faithful.

This is my testimony – through the prayers of many, I got to lead worship with a bunch of fantastic, God-loving people, and worship with several hundred people today.

Hallelujah!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

