#GAconf15

Last weekend was a whirlwind of activity – I spent it in Manchester, England at the Geographical Association‘s Annual Conference. The title was “Making an Impact”, and it truly made an impact on me!

My favourite workshops and lectures came with simple, though complex teaching-wise, ideas. Hinge Questions are something that I have already used in the classroom in the past week, and have helped to clear up misconceptions in my grade 10 geography class.

Another of my favourites, which despite being one of the second last things to go to, was by David Rogers. He is engaging, and makes me want to be a better geographer and teacher. The way he talks about geography is amazing:

[geographers are] decision makers that change the world.

And that’s what I want from my students – to change the world in a positive way, and through the love of Jesus. Geography can help students do that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

